Upgrade MySites Host Site Collection in Office 365 – SharePoint 2013

Xgility’s Office 365 account was recently upgraded to 2013 and I noticed that on every other site collection I got a nice little pink notice at the top of the page prompting me to upgrade. On every page except my profile / MySite page.

Clicking on “About Me” in the suite bar sent me to the SharePoint 2010 version of my profile page.
MySettings
Even after upgrading my “My Content” portion of the MySite I was still being directed to the SharePoint 2010 version of the profile page.
2010Profile
I tried appending “/_layouts/siteupgrade.aspx” to the end of the URL and just got an “Access Denied” error message. Which I thought was strange since I’m a site collection administrator, (or so I thought) and a company administrator. Then I remembered that despite being a site collection administrator for my MySite, the profile URL is generated from a MySite host which is a separate site collection that no one gets access to by default.

So I logged into the company portal and looked at my list of site collections. I found the application that was hosting our MySites and clicked “Owners -> Manage Administrators” and sure enough, only the Company Administrator account had been added.
ManageAdmin
Once I added my account as a site collection administrator in this area and refreshed the browser I was greeted by the nice pink notice to upgrade the whole MySite host site collection
UpgradeNow

Thanks
Stephen

About Mr_SHeister

Geek, Dad, SharePoint Administrator
This entry was posted in SharePoint and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Upgrade MySites Host Site Collection in Office 365 – SharePoint 2013

  1. Rob Hawkins says:

    Thanks for this! I had exactly the same problem….

  2. Henry Cole says:

    Thanks! Most helpful.

Leave a Reply

